The Potato: Painting and Poem

This little potato I painted a while back and while he’s not in my usual style, I’ve always felt there was something pretty special about him.  He even has a little poem of his own…

The Potato

Like a small infant cradled in the ground,
In dark cool soil the potato is found!
Sleeping so peaceful in a land far away,
Nestled at the bottom of a hot summer’s day.

A man’s hands dig and push soft dirt aside,
Then hungrily says, “How would you like to be fried!?”
The potato is scrubbed to his bare naked skin,
Then peeled, shaved, and chopped so thin.

Poor potato is fried in a burning hot pan,
Then chewed up and swallowed, into the man.

Today I got him out of my files and put him in my kitchen!

6 Comments

Filed under art, watercolor

6 responses to “The Potato: Painting and Poem

  1. A really fun poem…thanks for sharing it!

  2. Vishinsky Designs

    Wow

  3. That is a sad, sad poem! I am never eating a baby potato again!

    love the picture frame…

  4. Natalie

    I love the potato.

  5. Candice Karper

    How am I supposed to eat potatoes from my garden again?? The picture is adorable though!

  6. I love this!

    It reminded me of the sad and humorous poems and drawings by Tim Burton. If you haven’t checked out “The Melancholy Death of Oyster Boy,” please do. It’s a fun read.

Leave a Reply

