Sleeping Beauty

My favorite illustrations from a children’s book are from Sleeping Beauty, illustrated by Sheilah Beckett.

I can remember studying these pictures for hours.

Also as a child I remember drawing (or trying to draw) these sleeves over and over again.

The prince is even prettier than she is.

I love her braided hair and dress.  (his butt cheeks just make me giggle.)

My childhood copy was falling apart so I was able to purchase another one and with my old copy I am cutting out some artwork to put up in my house!  (This one is the king and queen right after she had her baby.)

6 Comments

Filed under art, watercolor

6 responses to “Sleeping Beauty

  1. Natalie

    I love that book.

  2. I love the idea of framing it. So sentimental and I am sure makes you smile every time you see it.

  3. This is faboluos idea!
    I love these pics as well!

  4. I had this book as well and was completely enamored with the illustrations . . . though, like you, I always marveled at the ridiculously defined cheeks of the prince. Gave me the heebs a bit when I was little . . . not gonna lie.

  5. sunny

    These illustrations remind me of my favorite childhood book, “Cinderella” by Hilary Knight…they are very similar. I too, stared for hours at the beautiful drawings as a child. I now have a copy to pass down to my daughter. but I’m gonna have to buy another to frame some pages!! GREAT IDEA!!

Leave a Reply

